CIRCULAR

* * *

Sub: Public Services – Appointment of Government employees on deputation / foreign service – Instructions – Issued. --00000--

Instances have been brought to notice that officials appointed on deputation / foreign service with the approval of the Competent Authority for a limited period of two or three years are allowed to be continued in the deputation posts beyond their prescribed tenure.

2. As per extant orders, the Administrative Department / borrowing Authority may extend the period of deputation in excess of the period prescribed in the Recruitment Rules, in the event of absolute necessity in public interest, only after obtaining the approval of the Competent Authority.

3. The period of deputation should normally be restricted to three years and that the proposal for fourth and fifth year deputation should be considered only in case of absolute exigency of public service and not as a matter of routine.

4. It is therefore reiterated that the approval of the Competent Authority should invariably be obtained before considering the extension of deputation of the Government employees either for the fourth year or the fifth year.

5. If the borrowing Authority in the exigency of public service, wishes to retain an Officer beyond the prescribed tenure, it shall initiate action for seeking concurrence of the Lending Authority six months before the expiry of the tenure of deputation. Thereafter, the Lending Authority should invariably obtain the approval of the Competent Authority before conveying its approval for extension of deputation beyond the third year where the extension in the period of deputation is absolutely necessary in public interest.

6. These instructions may strictly be adhered to in future.

7. This issues with the approval of the Lieutenant Governor.

(D.C. SAHOO, 4.A.S.) SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT (PERSONNEL)

То

- 1. All Secretariat Departments / Heads of Departments / Offices.
- 2. All Public Sector Undertakings / Boards / Autonomous Bodies / Societies, Puducherry.

Copy to:

- 1. All Secretaries to Government / Secretary to Lt. Governor, Puducherry.
- 2. The Resident Commissioner for Puducherry Administration, New Delhi.
- 3. The Private Secretary to Chief Minister / Speaker, Puducherry.
- 4. The Private Secretary to all Ministers / Sr. P.A. to Dy. Speaker, Puducherry.
- 5. The Collector, Karaikal / Regional Administrator, Mahe / Yanam.
- 6. The Addi. Dy. Resident Commissioner for Puducherry Administration, New Delhi.
- 7. The Director of Accounts & Treasuries, Puducherry.
- 8. The Private Secretary to Chief Secretary, Puducherry.
- 9. Stock file / C.R.B.